Table Taking Shape and Tool Chest Done!

Friday, July 19, 2013: The table leg shaping is now complete, including the add-on blocks that complete the curves. All of the work related to these curves was completed with a chisel and spokeshave, and the edges and corners were all shaped with the spokeshave. I also chopped the 8 mortises on the inside of the apron, to accept the turn buttons, which will secure the table top.

001The last major table component is the lower stretcher. This is just a single piece of wood, but it has a through, rounded over, full tennon, which requires a substantial amount of work to be correct. I completed one of them today, and I was very please with it.

 

After the main class was over for the day, I went back to work on my tool chest. I am substantially completed, with only the personalization items to do. These things include drawer pulls, latch, maybe some carry handles, and certainly drawer dividers. I will most likely have to wait until I get home to do these. I will also apply a finish after the chest has acclimated at my house for a bit.

005

I took some time to help Ray, one of my classmates, cut his lid from the box and plane the rims. He should be able to finish that part tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Educational. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

